The OSGi Look

There’s life beyond JavaEE

OSGi Bookshelf

with 2 comments

As I stated in the first post, there aren’t many (completed) books on OGSi yet. Here’s an annotated list:

OSGi in Practice, by Neil Bartlett
Not complete yet, but it’s free, and it’s, in my opinion, the most well-written book on the topic. Donwload it here

OSGi in Action, Manning, by Richard S. Hall, Karl Pauls, and Stuart McCulloch
I bought it, but it’s a preview version; only a few chapters are available.

Die OSGi Service Platform, Dpunkt.Verlag, by Gerd Wütherich, Nils Hartmann, Bernd Kolb, Matthias Lübken
German only! I hope to able to read it, in the future, when my German is improved

Equinox and OSGi: The Power Behind Eclipse, Addison Wesley, by Jeff McAffer, Paul VanderLei, Simon Archer
To be released in August 2009

Pro Spring Dynamic Modules for OSGi™ Service Platform, Apress, by Daniel Rubio
To be release in February 2009

Written by fdiotalevi

February 5, 2009 at 5:10 am

Posted in book, osgi

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    Thx for this great blog.

    Glad to know other italian guys learning and working on OSGi.

    At the moment i’m just learning and evaluating it this technology to see if it could be useful for me and for my job.

    About the books here my opinion:

    1) OSGi in practice: I agree with you it’s the best one to learn OSGi

    2) OSGi in action: I bought it too, my opinion is that this book is not for start, but it could be useful if you’ve already it the other one

    3) Equinox and OSGi: I bougth it from Safari, and it’s absolutely necessary if you need to work with equinox.

    BTW I think i did not know the book about spring dm but i think i’ll buy it.

    Andrea

    Andrea

    February 5, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  2. […] a comment » Five months have passed after since my previous post on the state of OSGi books, so it’s time to have a look again to our bookshelves to see what’s […]


Leave a comment